Coucou, here is Charlotte Dipanda

Coucou, here is Charlotte Dipanda

Already a familiar voice in the music scene, Charlotte Dipanda has accompanied the greatest musicians live and in studio including international legend Manu Dibango, Malian griotte Rokia Traore, Congolese star Papa Wemba and French star Axelle Red.
She takes her vocals to the next step when she goes solo in 2008 with her debut album Mispa followed 2 years later by a sophomore album “Dube l’am” which shows the Cameroonian singer speaking as per the album title of what she believes in (the album is entitled “Dube l’am” which stands for My faith). With it, the Cameroonian singer-songwriter presents songs that brings her audience closer to her true self, in particular popular track Coucou.

Her mostly acoustic Afropop is rich in heritage with appropriate touches of traditional Cameroonian folk but unencumbered in rendition. Strong of her female artist of the year award at Canal d’or 2009, her voice rocks you gently beyond the languages she sings in (French, Bakaka and Duala) to an understanding that defies these mere boundaries. Recognition is immediate as international Jazz and World star Richard Bona and famous Zouk band member Jacob Desvarieux feature in the album.

Chantal Dipanda in songs

  1. Bwel From her debut album comes this lovely acoustic piece lifted by melodic harmonies, brush percussions and a nostalgia-feeled Jazz-fusion-toned guitar riff
  2. Our first featured track is Coucou from her second album, a beautiful acoustic ballad that touches in spite of it being sung in Duala
  3. International star Richard Bona pens a song for Dipanda and accompanies her in this duet.
  4. Charlotte Dipanda’s lovely voice shines as it lends itself beautifully to this rhythmic Zouk with Eric Virgal.
  5. Tè bè nde na – Another gem from her first album, very fusion and showcasing her vocals
  6. Longè – Again her first album gives us this track about humility.
  7. Elle n’a pas vu
    (more songs soon to come as she releases her long anticipated 3rd album)

Krista Detor shares the contents of her red velvet box

Krista Detor shares the contents of her red velvet box

Artist Profile

Put some laid-back tones into Americana/Country, throw touches of Jazz and Fusion elements here and there. Please don’t shake and don’t stir. Let it just marinate. You will end up with the voice and melodies of Krista Detor, of the music that slows down the human race and help you exhale the toxicity of life that humans create for themselves without ever saying a word against humanity.

It takes quite some craft to bring together a feeling, a chord, a lyric in the manner that this lady does and then take them unexpectedly yet harmonically beyond where the ear can at first sense and the way an emotion can superficially resonate.  This is music that outlasts its time and place whilst at the same time borrowing every relevant elements of it. You will hear and lavish in it as if you always knew it, yet go about your chores with a renewed mind.

Krista Detor in ten songs

1. Bridges 2. Belle of the ball 3. Red Velvet Box 4. A year too long 5. Mudshow 6. Barely 7. Icarus 8. Rich man’s life 9. Oranges Fall Like Rain Suite 10. Blowing Kisses

Paul Fogarty finds his own way home

Paul Fogarty finds his own way home

With topical songs à la John Lennon meets Bob Marley, the softness of Paul Simon at the tip of his tongue and fingers, the Americana/Country meets Folk troubadour Paul Fogarty is one of the most understated yet deeply expressive musicians out there.

Once you have wallowed into the ever growing musical legacy of Australia-born Germany-based Fogarty, it becomes impossible to deny how much his music could be a soundtrack to the life of those who look for an answer under every rock and over every mountain they face. His tunes accompany their life’s journey not like some mere background music to drown the unaccommodating sounds of real life or to be told how to get there. His music is for those who, even with fear and pain, still believe in themselves and their ability to find their own way home. His expression betrays both a lover and a fighter who has found a balance between opposites to offer a platter of soft eye-openers, acknowledging the details of life, taking a clear side FOR life and accompanying you every day with some witty references winking back at a past we need to reconcile ourselves with.

In his expert musical hands and lips, creativity is a weapon of mass evolution and human freedom, and Paul Fogarty believes in humanity and in the Truth, the one that not only “will guide us from the words of those who lied” but “set your children free”, “give yourself a chance at peace, a sense of harmony”. You cannot help but be taken.

Paul Fogarty in ten songs
1. Home 2. Free Ride Babe 3. Iron lung 4. Hole In the Sky 5. Where is your baby now? 6. I’ve already said goodbye 7. Where is your baby now? 8. Planetary suicide 9. Frozen 10. Shine on

Our song selection from Paul Fogarty’s collection is Home after hesitating between that title and the track “Dead or Alive”