The Ivors Composer Awards 2022: Announcing winners

by | Nov 17, 2022

Announcing The Ivors Composer Awards 2022

The Ivors Academy announced the winners at The Ivors Composer Awards 2022 on the 15th of November 2022. The Ivors Composer Awards celebrate the best new music in classical, jazz and sound art at the British Museum, Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3DG.

12 composers are winners of this year’s prestigious Ivor Novello Awards. The ceremony took placce on the 15th of November and was sponsored by PRS for Music and hosted and broadcast by BBC Radio 3 on the 19th of November 2022.

The Ivors Composer Awards 2022: 3 composers honoured for their contribution to music

Three composers were honoured for their contributions to music.

  • The Ivor Novello Award for Outstanding Works Collection was presented in association with the the Music Publishers Association to Sir George Benjamin. The Ivors Academy said of his work

    consistent beauty, complexity and colour of his compositions is outstanding.

    Sir George Benjamin - Askonas Holt

    Sir George Benjamin – Askonas Holt

  • The Fellowship of The Ivors Academy  was presented to Judith Weir who became the first female Master of the Queen’s Music in 2014
  • The Ivor Novello Innovation Award was presented in association with the Musicians’ Union to  virtuoso tabla player, percussionist, producer and composer Talvin Singh (Amazon Music, Spotify, Apple Music and YouTube Music).

The Ivors Composer Awards 2022: Nine composers won in the 9 categories:

As well as the 3 composers honoured for their contributions to music, The Ivors Composer Awards 2022 reveals the list of nominees and winners for the nine categories of the Ivors Composer Awards 2022, namely:

  • Chamber Ensemble: Which nominee took the award? Aesop 2 composed by Robin Haigh, Essential relaxing classical hits by Laurence Osborn, Madame Ma Bonne soeur by Brett Dean, Music for Bosch people composed by Alex Paxton, or the Big House by Oliver Leith?
  • Choral: Who won? The intriguing A Short Story Of Falling or the hopeful All Shall Be Well both by Joanna Marsh, Ken Hesketh’s reflective Carmina Tempore Viri (Songs In Time Of Virus), Seascapes composed by Kristina Arakelyan or There Is No Rose by Cecilia McDowall?
  • Community and Participation (in association with ABRSM): Daylighting composed by Louise Drewett, Isle Of Sound composed by Emily Peasgood, Something Exciting composed by Derri Joseph Lewis, The Selfish Giant composed by John Barber or When a Child Is A Witness – Requiem For Refugees composed by Liz Dilnot Johnson
  • Jazz Ensemble: 22:22 composed by Dan Mar-Molinero, Birds of Paradise composed by Tori Freestone, Cwmwl Tystion II – Riot! Suite composed by Tomos Williams, Plant Based Patterns composed by David De La Haye or To Love Itself composed by Alex Hitchcock
  • Large Ensemble: Candyfolk Space-Drum composed by Alex Paxton, Concerto Grosso by Joe Cutler, Houses Slide by Laura Bowler, Scenes From The Wild composed by Cheryl Frances-Hoad or Sleeptalker composed by Robin Haigh
  • Orchestral: À Mon Seul Désir composed by Brian Irvine, Acts Of waves composed by Edmund Finnis, Concerto For Orchestra composed by George Benjamin, Litanies composed by Julian Anderson or To An Utterance composed by Rebecca Saunders
  • Small Chamber: Who won of Corale composed by Benjamin Graves, Fantaisie Di Strani E Dolci Misteri Della Parola composed by James Weeks, Natural World composed by Laurence Crane, Rosalind by Hannah Kendall or This Unquiet Autumn composed by Lara Agar
  • Sound Art: Beacons by Emily Peasgood, Down Gone by Una Lee, Earthquake Mass Re-Imagined by Kathy Hinde, The Mute Still Air by Ed Carter, The Sound Voice Project: Paul, I Left My Voice Behind, Tanja by Hannah Conway

Head to their website to find out the list of winners is outlined on the Ivors Composer Awards 2022 page as well as a link to find out more and listen to each nominee’s music.